Sydney Rays named in NSW team for Tens

February 7, 2018 12:05 pm Published by

SIX of the Macquarie Uni Sydney Rays squad that competed in the Aon Uni 7s series have been named in the NSW team that will compete at the Brisbane Global Tens this weekend.

NSW head coach Nathan McMahon, who also leads the Rays women’s sevens program, has included Bottle Vetter-Welsh, Sarah Halvorsen, Olivia Brooks, Kennedy Cherrington, Layne Morgan and Arabella Mckenzie in his group for the weekend in Brisbane.

Emily Robinson who played for the Rays in the Chikorovski Cup has also been included in what will be quite a strong combination.

McMahon told au: “This is a massive step in the right direction for women’s rugby.

“If we take a look at what happened last year, the players we took to the event went on to play in the AON 7’s series, for the Wallaroos in the World Cup and we had one player go on to play at the Commonwealth Youth Games and win a gold medal.

“We have a balanced team consisting of players with a Fifteens background coupled with those who have represented NSW at State level and some who have played in the AON 7’s Series.”

McMahon said Tens was different to XVs but it was still important preparation for the Super W competition.

The squad:
Atasi Lafai 2. Botille Vette-Welsh (Rays) 3. Katrina Baker 4. Grace Hamilton 5. Sarah Halvorsen (Rays) 6. Emily Robinson 7. Ashleigh Hewson (Captain) 8. Ilisevea Batibasaga 9. Cobie-Jane Morgan 10. Ana-Lise Sio 11. Noella Green 12. Tamsin Sheppard 13. Evelyn Horomia 14. Olivia Brooks (Rays) 15. Kennedy Cherrington (Rays) 16. Layne Morgan (Rays) 17. Arabella McKenzie (Rays) 18. Chloe Leaupepe

The games:
Friday 9 February
v Queensland at 1611 AEST; 1711 AEDT
v Melbourne Rebels at 2003 AEST; 2103 AEDT

Saturday 10 February

v ACT Brumbies at 1631AEST; 1531 AEDT

The final is at 1930 (AEST; 2030 AEDT